icon
icon
icon
icon
Book Info
left icon
setting icon
Lessons in Chemistry book image
Fiction

Lessons in Chemistry

By Bonnie Garmus

book iconDoubleday Canada

Description

NATIONAL BESTSELLER
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

A delight for readers of Where'd You Go, Bernadette, this blockbuster debut set in 1960s California features the singular voice of Elizabeth Zott, a scientist whose career takes a detour when she becomes the star of a beloved TV cooking show.


Chemist Elizabeth Zott is not your average woman. In fact, Elizabeth Zott would be the first to point out that there is no such thing as an average woman. But it's the early 1960s and her all-male team at Hastings Research Institute takes a very unscientific view of equality. Except for one: Calvin Evans, the lonely, brilliant, Nobel Prize–nominated grudge holder who falls in love with—of all things—her mind. True chemistry results.

Like science, though, life is unpredictable. Which is why a few years later Eizabeth Zott finds herself not only a single mother but also the reluctant star of America's most beloved cooking show, Supper at Six. Elizabeth's unusual approach to cooking ("combine one tablespoon acetic acid with a pinch of sodium chloride") proves revolutionary. But as her following grows, not everyone is happy. Because, as it turns out, Elizabeth Zott isn't just teaching women how to cook. She's daring them to change the status quo.

Laugh-out-loud funny, shrewdly observant and studded with a dazzling cast of supporting characters, Lessons in Chemistry is as original and vibrant as its protagonist.

Readers

Rakib
1

Reviews

Notes

close icon
Sign In
close icon
Select Languages

Which languages of books would you like to see on the main feed?

All Languages
English
Español
Français
Português
हिन्दी
العربية
中文
日本語
한국어
close icon
Share Links
close icon
Share Review
close icon
Comments
No comments yet